cream of tomato soup

cream of tomato soup

Who doesn’t love a good tomato soup? This fast, no-guilt recipe (it uses milk instead of cream) is so delicious yet requires next to no effort – you will never open a canned tomato soup again! It’s good on it’s own and even better paired with a toasted cheese. Tonight I’m serving it ladled over mini meatballs as a tasty surprise. If you want something fancier and more presentable, pour the soup into individual soup tureens, add a puff pastry lid then bake until golden.

Cream of Tomato Soup
serves 4

2 x 400g (28oz) cans whole, peeled plum tomatoes
250ml (1 cup) chicken or vegetable stock
750ml (3 cups) whole milk
1 medium onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
60g (4 tbsp) butter
4 tbsp flour
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp tomato purée
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
freshly ground black pepper

Blitz the tomatoes in a blender until smooth. Set aside.

Melt the butter and olive oil in a large pot over a medium heat. Add the onion and garlic, sauté until the onions are tender and translucent. Sprinkle over the flour and continue to stir and cook for a couple of minutes (do not forgo this part as you don’t want the taste of uncooked flour in the soup).

Gradually pour in the milk and stock, then add the bay leaf, basil, tomato purée, sugar, and salt. Continue to cook and stir until slightly thickened. Stir the baking soda into the tomatoes then add them to the pot, and bring to a simmer. Season with salt and black pepper to taste then blitz again in a blender if you prefer a silky smooth soup (I personally like the bits of onion so don’t bother). Reheat before serving.

Tomato on Foodista

~ by gourmettraveller on October 21, 2009.

16 Responses to “cream of tomato soup”

  1. Yum! One of my favorite soups! I was curious how milk instead of cream would make it thick enough, but I guess the butter and flour does the trick just as well!

    • Yes, the roux at the start helps to thicken the soup. You really must try this – you’ll be surprised how a soup requiring minimal effort can be this tasty (seriously!)

  2. one of my favourite soups. Love the colour & looks so delish

  3. Can you translate the measurements to t. or T. or cups?

  4. This looks like a great way to brighten up a dreary Pacific Northwest winter. I can’t wait to try it! Thanks.

  5. This sounds delicious!

  6. This looks lovely, can you tell tne what the baking soda does? I’m curious!

  7. Cream of tomato soup is a great winter dish, and a staple in our house along with a grilled cheese in winter. Yours is almost as easy as opening a can and much more delicious I bet!

  8. [...] picture a creamy tomato soup and you are there) but here is the recipe, which I snagged from the gourmet traveller website (their spelling mistake, not [...]

  9. My apologies. Looks like I put too much faith in my WordPress spell check, which appears to be American. I have always thought it was two Ls myself and suppose that us Canadians would spell it that way since we usually follow British spelling. I have since removed my slander from my site hehe.

    Either way – really good soup!

    • My WP spell check is also set on American spellings which is annoying (never knew I could change it) and means I end up spelling words all sort of ways! Thanks for the retraction – much appreciated although wasn’t really necessary! :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 293 other followers

