earl grey tea ice cream

The British weather has been more than a little indecisive of late and I’m waking every morning unsure if I’ll be craving a hot cuppa or an ice lolly by early afternoon. Confused and exasperated by this state of affairs, I decided to make what I thought was the best of both worlds – a batch of tea ice cream from a recipe I found in one of my many files bulging with food mag tear-outs (I’ve no idea which publication it’s from… maybe ‘Style’?). It’s lovely eaten with rich tea fingers (as their blandness doesn’t compete with the delicate bergamot aroma), and is essentially the “tea and biccies” of summer.

Early Grey Tea Ice Cream
serves 4-6

5 earl grey tea bags
300ml (10.5 fl oz) milk
75g (6 tbsp) caster sugar
3 medium egg yolks
250g whipping cream

Heat the milk and tea bags in a small sauce pan and bring to just below the boil. Remove from heat and leave to infuse for 10 minutes, then strain.

In a large glass bowl whisk the egg yolks and sugar until it thickens and becomes pale and fluffy. Quickly whisk in a quarter of the flavoured milk, then the rest of the milk, stirring well to combine.

Place the bowl over a pan of simmering water (the base of the bowl should not touch the water) and leave to cook, stirring occassionally, until the mixture thickens. This should take 15-20 minutes.

Remove the bowl from heat and leave to cool to room temperature, then stir in the cream. pop in the fridge to chill.

Once chilled, churn in an ice cream machine until soft set. Spoon into a container and freeze for another couple of hours before serving.

Serve with rich tea biscuits or thin shortbreads.

~ by gourmettraveller on June 17, 2010.

17 Responses to “earl grey tea ice cream”

  1. Oh this looks FABULOUS!

  2. Fabulous! I’ve been thinking to do something with earl grey lately, and this fits the bill!

  3. This looks awesome. I love green tea ice cream, I will surely love this too. Thank you for sharing.

  4. I can just imagine how I would love this! Bravo!

  5. Delicious! I love green tea ice cream and I bet this one is in the same genre!

  6. How very British. Can’t wait to try this.

  7. Been wanting to do this for a while – seeing how delicious your looks we will probably try it our for our supper club soon. Great idea!! Really really want!!

    • it would be fab for supper club now that it’s (properly) summer! and with your tea expertise I’m sure you’ll come up with some other great tea-flavoured ice creams :)

  8. Nice twist, love tea based ice creams:) Yummy!

  9. I like Earl Grey Tea and wouldn’t mind trying this out.

  10. Hmmmmm….I’ve got some lychee tea that I think would taste good in too. Now I need to decide – Earl Grey or Lychee

  11. I cannot wait to make this. Earl Grey tea is one of my favorite things in the world.

  12. I love teas. I am sure this ice cream must taste great too.

  13. [...] Adapted from Gourmet Traveller [...]

  14. [...] in search of various food bloggers’ efforts. Among these, recipes for such offbeat treats as Earl Grey ice cream or chai ice [...]

  15. [...] Earl Grey Tea Ice Cream – Gourmet Traveller [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

