salted caramel ice cream

One of my earliest blog posts (second, to be exact) featured some lovely Salted Caramel Double Chocolate Cookies, and in this post my obsession for all things caramel-salted manifests itself once again. A rare sunny day this week prompted me to unearth the ice cream maker from the depths of our kitchen cupboard and make this wickedly rich and decadent creamy concoction. To be savoured in small quantities with great relish because (and I’m not going to lie to you), you WILL feel guilty eating this. But it’s worth it.

Salted Caramel Ice Cream
(from Gourmet, August 2009)
makes 1 quart

1 1/4 cups golden caster sugar
2 1/4 cups double cream
1/2 tsp fleur de sel (or maldon salt)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup whole milk
3 large eggs

Heat 1 cup of the sugar in a dry pan on a medium heat, stirring with a fork to distribute sugar evenly. Once it starts to melt stop stirring and cook, swirling the pan occasionally to allow all the sugar to melt and turn a dark amber. Once it does, quickly remove from heat (or it will keep cooking and burn).

Add in 1 1/4 cups cream (be careful – the mixture will spatter) and cook, stirring, until all of caramel has dissolved and it is smooth and runny. Pour into a bowl and stir in the sea salt and vanilla extract. Leave to cool.

Meanwhile, bring the milk and remaining cream and sugar just to a boil in a small heavy saucepan, stirring occasionally.

Lightly whisk eggs in a bowl, then add half of the hot milk mixture in a thin steady stream, whisking constantly. Pour back into saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, until custard coats back of spoon. Do not let the liquid boil or it will curdle (once it registers 170°F on an instant-read thermometer it is ready). Pour custard through a fine sieve into a large bowl, then stir in the cooled caramel.

Chill custard, stirring occasionally, until very cold (3-6 hours). Then churn the custard in ice cream maker until it holds together but is still quite soft. Place in an airtight container and put in freezer to firm up (do note that when it is ready it will still feel softer than regular ice cream).

Top each scoop with a few flakes of fleur de sel before serving.

Caramel on Foodista

~ by gourmettraveller on February 20, 2010.

23 Responses to “salted caramel ice cream”

  1. this looks pretty awesome! makes me want to go buy an ice cream maker like right now! =)

  2. I also have an obsession with all things caramel-salted, and I’m going to have to make this ice cream!

  3. Mmmm….beautiful ice cream. I’m going to love this more when summer comes.

  4. Creamy deliciousness…looking for my ice creammaker now…

  5. I LOVE salted caramel but havent had in icecream form before! sounds so good!

  6. This looks amazing!

  7. But I do not have an ice-cream maker!!! How?

  8. MMMMM. Here in the land of gelato this would be a great addition.

  9. Sounds perfectly delicious.

  10. Salted caramel = mmmmm. This looks so fabulous, and far too dangerously addictive for my kitchen. Perhaps this could be an exception… gorgeous!

  11. mmm…i’m into salt and caramel right now and of course always love ice cream. looks wonderful and sounds very creamy!

  12. […] salted caramel ice cream « gourmet traveller. […]

  13. I’ve never had this flavor of ice cream before but I must say, it looks absolutely delicious! I think you’ve just convinced me to purchase an ice cream maker :)

  14. Three of my favourite things – salt, caramel and ice cream! Wish I had an ice cream maker…

  15. I have an ice cream maker…I can’t wait for it to get warm. I want to make this..I LOVE Caramel

  16. I too am a salted caramel fanatic. I couldn’t resist this.

  17. What is “golden caster sugar” in US terms?

  18. great job and easy to make, definately i will try it soon.
    keep writing

  19. Is the double cream mentioned here like clotted cream, or like heavy cream (as in the U.S.)? Thanks, this looks fantastic!

Leave a comment