baked pork chop rice

Baked Pork Chop Rice is a Hong Kong diner classic which I adored as a child. It consists of a succulent fried pork chop resting on a bed of egg fried rice (sometimes with the addition of peas, mushrooms and onions), topped with rich tomato sauce and a generous sprinkle of cheese that’s baked until golden. Parmesan wouldn’t usually grace this western-inspired dish but that was all I had on hand, I would suggest using the more traditional mixture of grated cheddar and mozzarella which gives a lovely oozy cheese layer. I prefer pork shoulder steaks as I find them juicier and less likely to dry out, if you choose to use pork loin chops instead then bash them a bit before marinating to tenderise the meat.

Baked Pork Chop Rice
serves 1

1 pork shoulder or loin chop
1 1/2 cups cold cooked rice
2 tbsp frozen peas
a large handful of grated cheese
1 egg, beaten
corn flour (for dusting)
vegetable oil (for frying)

marinade:
1/2 tbsp light soy sauce
1/4 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp corn flour
1 tsp shaoxing wine
1/4 tsp grated ginger
pinch white pepper

tomato sauce:
2 tomatoes, chopped
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp sugar
2 tbsp tomato ketchup
1/2 tbsp worchestershire sauce
1/2 tbsp corn flour
1/4 cup water
1 tbsp vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 200°C (392°F).

Mix together the marinade ingredients and leave the pork chops to marinade for 30-45 minutes.

To make the tomato sauce, heat the oil in a saucepan over a medium heat and fry the garlic and onions gently, taking care not to colour them to much. Once translucent, add the tomatoes and fry for a couple of minutes until softened then add all remaining ingredients to the pan. Leave to simmer for 10-12 minutes, stirring occasionally.

While the sauce is cooking fry your pork chop. In a shallow pan pour heat a 1-2 cm deep layer of oil on a high heat. Lightly flour the pork chop on all sides then fry for 2-3 minutes on each side until golden. Remove from heat and leave to rest.

In a wok or deep pan heat about 1 tbsp oil and fry the beaten egg and peas until nearly set, then throw in your rice and keep frying until combined and heated through. Lightly season with salt and white pepper.

Place the fried rice into an oven-proof dish and top with the pork chop (you may wish to slice it first at this point to make it easier to eat). Pour over the tomato sauce to cover completely then sprinkle liberally with grated cheese.

Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until the cheese has melted and the sauce is bubbling. Enjoy straight from the oven.

Pork Chop on Foodista  Tomato on Foodista  Rice on Foodista

~ by gourmettraveller on December 3, 2009.

15 Responses to “baked pork chop rice”

  1. Strangely, I’ve only had baked pork chop rice at HK Diner in London and it was white and winey and creamy. Never had a tomato based one before!

    • I’ve tried the HK Diner baked pork chop rice before – it’s not the typical Cantonese version which is always tomato based, however it is similar to Portuguese Baked Seafood Rice (another popular dish at HK-style diners) which has a creamy sauce.

  2. Sounds great, i love all things pork.

  3. What a unique recipe, I never associate cheese with Asian food. The corn flour must provide some small amount of thickening to the tomato sauce. Sounds very interesting I am going to give it a try.

    • Well it definitely isn’t an integral part of cantonese cuisine but Hong Kong diners serve many western inspired dishes that often feature cheese or white sauces. And yes, the corn flour thickens the sauce so that it sits on top of the rice during baking, rather than soaking into it and making it soggy. Let me know how it turns out if you do make it!

  4. ooh … I’m from originally from cali in an asian heavy area … in HS we used to go to HK cafes until all hours of the night. It was the Denny’s of our area. I used to love baked pork chops … or chicken steaks with mushroom or onion sauce on a sizzling plate. And of course yin-yangs served in those upside down light bulb looking things with lots of condensed milk. Such memeories!

  5. my mom makes this dish! Though not with cheese. For some reason i always thought it was her creation, I guess it’s because I grew up eating it.

  6. Oh the memories! I grew up on this stuff, which I got in HK-style diners in Toronto. To this day, I still crave it.

    The only thing I think you’re missing from this recipe is a generous dosage of MSG and probably some ash that fell from the cigarette hanging from the line cook’s lip. Oh, and HK-flavored sweat.

    The other thing I loved best from those diners was their deep-fried chicken wings. No breading, just pure, deep fried goodness. Their deep-fried french toast was good too. Maybe you can try those next? :)

    • I love fried chicken wings too! It’s been a long time since I’ve had HK-style french toast…my mum used to bring me for tea when i was little and I’d have French Toast with a tall glass of Red Bean Ice – yum! And Portuguese Curry is going on the list!

  7. OH! I forgot to mention: Portugese-style curry chicken sauce on rice. You MUST try that!

  8. […] saw this on my new stalkee addition to my blogroll, Gourmet Traveller – seriously, this is the second recipe I’ve made from there, and I’ve saved at least 3 […]

  9. This is just what I was looking for; what a great recipe! I used to work near a Hong Kong-style cafe and would frequent them for baked pork chop rice. I’ve been craving that yummy tomato flavor for months and decided to search around for recipes. Thank you for sharing yours! I look forward to trying out this recipe very soon!

  10. […] either in one of my many cookbooks, at various bookstores, or online. Finally I came across this recipe and thought it looked pretty good so gave it a try and adapted it for my own […]

  11. I followed your recipe to prepare this dish and it’s really delicious, thanks for sharing!

  12. Greetings from Auckland, NZ. Googled for this recipe and was lead to your site. Made it for dinner tonight and it was g-o-o-d!! Definitely on my favourite list now! Now that I can make this dish, we don’t need to go the usual HKG/Macanese restaurants to get this fix. Thanks for sharing. Cheers.

Leave a comment