bacon hash browns

I don’t have time to faff about much with breakfast during the week – perhaps a bowl of granola, a fruit smoothie, or the odd bacon and egg sarnie after a heavy night out. Weekends however are a different matter. B is somewhat of a master with eggs and there’s nothing I like better than lazily poring over the Sunday papers with a plate of his scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on rye or sunny side ups with toulouse sausages and girolles by my side.

Of course we do alternate brunch duty, and on the days I’m behind the stove I may whip up some eggs of my own (baked à la Ottolenghi) or these potato fritters, a popular request. Seriously crunchy and loads tastier than your standard hash brown (you know what they say about bacon). We like to have them on their own with lashings of ketchup, but they also make a great addition to a larger fry-up platter. If you’re vegetarian or don’t have bacon to hand it can be left out, but where possible keep them in – those porky bits make all the difference!

Bacon Hash Browns
makes 12

3 medium potatoes
1 small onion
3 rashers streaky bacon, chopped
1 tbsp self-raising flour
1/2 tbsp milk
1 egg
freshly ground black pepper
vegetable oil (for deep-frying)
sea salt

Peel and coarsely grate the potatoes and onions and place in a large mixing bowl. Finely chop the bacon and add to the same bowl, together with the flour, milk, egg and a good grinding of black pepper. Mix well to combine.

Heat 3 inches of your oil in a deep pan and place heaped tablespoonfuls of the potato mixture in to fry – you will need to do them in two batches. Deep fry for 2 minutes until the edges start to turn golden then flip over and cook for another 2-3 minutes.

Drain on kitchen towels and season liberally with salt.

Eat immediately, or keep warm in a low oven until ready to serve.

~ by gourmettraveller on December 19, 2010.

21 Responses to “bacon hash browns”

  1. nom nom nom! I want someone to make these for me! ;)

  2. Wow. Deep fried bacon. YES PLEASE. They look and sound delicious.

  3. Oh.
    My.
    God.

  4. Let me just say that I am about to head home for Christmas, and I think a batch of these for breakfast on Christmas Eve will go down a TREAT! Thanks for a great recipe!

  5. These looks absolutely delicious–anything fried, anything with bacon…

    A kind of very un-kosher potato pancake, lol!

  6. this looks SO YUM!

  7. I need to make these – sounds awesome!

  8. What a great idea!

  9. Those look so good! Breakfast is a big thing on the weekends in my house too. This may need to be added to the rotation.

  10. I want that for breakfast now. It looks so comforting and yummy :)

  11. […] 5.) Bacon Hashbrowns […]

  12. dear lord my hips are gonna love this!!

  13. […] 4. Hash browns go basic or go wild and add some bacon. […]

  14. yum! bacon and hash browns..omg!

  15. […] Bacon Hash Browns Gourmet Traveler […]

  16. […] You can have your Egg McMuffins and extra large coffee, we just want about a half dozen hash browns when we wake up in time for McDonald’s breakfast. What’s better than that? These homemade breakfast bites. (Also hovercrafts.) Really though, you can’t go wrong with deep-fried potatoes and bacon. (Link) […]

  17. Does the bacon need to be cooked before you mix it in, or does it cook itself when you deep fry it?

  18. Just to make sure…after you grate the potatoes, you don’t squeeze out and discard the potato liquid, right? It seems that with only 1/2 TBSP of self-rising flour, the mixture would be very wet (especially with the grated onion in it). Can you confirm?

    • Hi Vince, yes I do squeeze out the excess water from the grated potatoes – sorry I should’ve indicated that on the recipe as you’re right, it’s be rather wet otherwise!

  19. I can’t wait to make these! I shared them on my Facebook Page and pinned them! Thank you!

Leave a comment